This region, which encompasses all of the northern part of the South Island, can be divided into two parts: the Marlborough region in the east (the Sounds, Picton, Blenheim) and the Nelson region in the west, which includes three national parks: Abel Tasman National Park, the smallest with 22,350 hectares, Nelson Lakes, the most recent, and Kahurangi National Park, the second largest in the country with nearly 1,000 km of trails. Then get to your shoes!

The must-see places in South Island

Prepare for your trip South Island

  • comp_pv_maritime
  • Find a hotel
  • Holiday rental
  • Airbnb rental
  • Tailor-made trip
Services / On site
  • Airbnb experiences
  • Book a table
  • Activities & visits

Pictures South Island