TEMPLE OF THE GOD PROTECTOR OF THE CITY
Petit Futé's opinion on TEMPLE OF THE GOD PROTECTOR OF THE CITY
Established in honour of Qin Yubo, a general who marked Chinese history, the Jinshan Shenci Temple is renamed in the Ming, where it takes its current name. Under the Ming and then Qing dynasties, three ceremonies were organized every year on the streets of the old town and in the temple, to pay tribute to this protective god of Shanghai. The structure we can see today is a reconstruction of the original building, destroyed by a fire in 1922. Nevertheless, the temple allows to discover the traditional architecture of the region, which has been well preserved despite reconstruction. However, the visit is a little disappointing since only one of the buildings still houses statues (new…), the other three having been transformed into shops. On the other hand, we can admire from the court the impressive sculptures adorning the roofs of the main building, which are General Qin Yubo in full action.
Book your trip !
- Book a ferry
Find a hotel
Experiences & Boxes
Book a table
Activities & Visits
Opening time and information on TEMPLE OF THE GOD PROTECTOR OF THE CITY
Open every day from 8.30am to 4.30pm. Admission: 5 RMB.